Why my 5 month relationship out does the Duke and Duchess of Cambridge…..

30 Apr

So Kate Middleton and Prince William are celebrating something that seems slightly unachievable to the likes of me – a year of marriage. I guess I should put it into perspective, gay relationships are fickle, volatile and are laden with deceit and lies, to top that off, we go a million times faster than our heterosexual brothers and sisters. Thats right, ‘gays’ work in dog years when it comes to relationships, a month in a gay man’s life equates to a year in the heterosexual world, so technically I have done better than the duke and duchess of cambridge – only just. Though I doubt any of them have been as successful as theirs, or even received the same press coverage. I am yet to receive a two page spread in a tabloid but I am slowly getting there inch by inch.

So get ready for this random and very unexpected tangent. I have been quoted in an australian newspaper, yes it might be due to my newly acquired friend but he would never put his job on the line for my expense. I mean I’m good but not worth risking a job over! So I was emailed a set of long rather dull questions about kate middleton’s fashion sense. Sadly some of the more ruthless quotes from my interview had been slashed but I still can air them on my blog, like a pair of dirty underwear. I mean was it rude to point out that the only reason Kate turns heads, was more down to the man on her arm and the rock on her finger opposed to the free dress she was given? Don’t get me wrong, I am a Kate Middleton fan, I think she has done wonders for society’s view on the Royal family. (I was also pleased for an extra bank holiday!) She is the bastion of Britishness and she is a delicate english rose, who I can’t fault. I know she might not be creating catwalk trends, but thats not her job; though she might be a little more successful if she were chosen to be ambassador for the British Fashion Council, than David Cameron’s wife! Now while we are on the subject of women I have little time for, should I mention her little sister – now the part I was quoted for in the paper was the following

I can’t fault Kate in her appearance, I swear she has a flock of birds that fly through her bedroom window to do her hair in the morning, like something from a disney film.

However they forgot to add the important part – ‘She could throw on a bin bag and still look beautiful, sadly that gene wasn’t passed on to her little sister. Like Pipa, the vast majority of us have to pay surgeons, spend hours grooming and still look horrific!’ I mean it wasn’t that bad, but with the press hounding her, I doubt the royal family needed another jab at her – she isn’t that bad. Far from it….but I was slightly disappointed the rest of the quote didn’t make it!

So as I sit in bed drinking the rest of the wine that the Australian left me this evening, I tip my glass to the happy couple and wish them all the best in the world. Though I still have a few more years on them!

Leave a comment